Ootheca Explosion – Part 2

April 10, 2010

Well, I have alot to learn about both filming and video production, but here’s my first attempt. Shamelessly inspired to give it a go by some excellent footage at Myrmecos blog.

I have a fair amount of work on at the moment, so haven’t had much time to play around. I guess this was more a test to see if my camera (Sony HDR-CX12) was capable of producing reasonable macro footage. It’s already looking better than my dabbles back in the days of VHS. I’ve discovered that even a light breeze is a nightmare, and that my next post-production venture will be to learn how to correct colour/brightness/contrast on a vid.

If anyone wants to see it in full 720p HD, you can do so here. Looks much better in HD in my opinion.

I’m really looking forward to giving this a proper go!

5 Responses to “Ootheca Explosion – Part 2”


  1. Video certainly does make things more real. Gotta love what technology allows you to do, and remember!

  2. TGIQ Says:

    I loved the shot of the little one on your finger, it really gives proper scale to their teeniness!

  3. peteryeeles Says:

    allthingsbiological: Yes for sure – technology these days is amazing. So accessible too.

    TGIQ: I really can’t overstate how cute these little guys were! I had another shot of one sitting on my little finger tip, which was great for scale, but wayyy to shaky unfortunately.

  4. Roberta Says:

    The video is awesome, I can’t believe it was a first attempt.Can’t wait to see your next one.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

