The Ootheca Explodes!

April 10, 2010

Around 10 days ago, I found a mantid ootheca on a grass stem in the back yard. I believe the owner is an Archimantis latistyla, because it was around the correct shape and size, and this species is a fairly common urban garden inhabitant up here. I brought it inside, and placed it in a small terrarium in the hope of seeing them hatch. Unfortunately… I think I missed the big event by mere minutes. However, it was still very exciting and we had alot of fun sending these guys on their merry way back where I found them. I took a little video, and will hopefully get time to process it and put it up here by the end of the weekend.

Here are a few pics for the time being. Baby mantids, while a little alien, are incredibly delicate and cute. This species appears to be a fairly competent jumper while a nymph, which I would think gives them a good escape mechanism before they develop wings.

2 Responses to “The Ootheca Explodes!”

  1. Dave Stone Says:

    Nice pictures! What kind of equipment did you use to get your images?

    • peteryeeles Says:

      Thanks, Dave. I currently use Nikon gear, although I have occasionally toyed with changing over to a Canon setup so i can use the MP-E lens. All up though I’m very happy with with the Nikon, so if I do switch it won’t be in the near future.

      These pics were taken with a Nikon D200, 50mm Sigma macro and a Metz bounce-flash with the reflector mentioned in my post a few days back. I also have a 200mm Nikon micro, but it’s getting a little tired and I’m probably going to ebay it (and the 50mm Sigma) and grab a Nikon 105 Micro.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

