Holidays… don’t they go quick!

May 22, 2010

Back from a great holiday up in the Daintree. Saw lots of cool stuff, and had a great time catching up with my parents (who live overseas). I will get some pics up online this week, but I had better get stuck into the mountain of dirty laundry which is stinkin’ it up in the bags! Appears I also have a tonne of reading (blogs, emails, papers) to catch up on.

Found these little guys on the beach yesterday, tidying up the remains of a frog. Always tickles me to see an invertebrate coming out on top! I had no hand lens nor means of retaining a couple,  only my wife’s compact digital camera so am not too sure of the ID. Looks to be an Iridomyrmex sp….

2 Responses to “Holidays… don’t they go quick!”


  1. Reminds me of that time lapse video that was circulating awhile back with the ants completely defleshing a gecko skeleton.

  2. myrmecos Says:

    Nice. Looks like Iridomyrmex to me, too. Maybe in the I. anceps group.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

