Hello world!

March 20, 2010

WordPress kindly added my first title for me, and it seemed fitting so I decided to keep it. I’ve been reading, lurking and occasionally commenting on the miriad of excellent natural history and biology blogs on the net for a while now. Recently I was asked why I didn’t own a blog myself, and after thinking about it I couldn’t really come up with a good reason why not. My writing isn’t eloquent; thoughts generally just tumble from my head and through my fingers rather haphazardly, so please don’t expect Shakespeare! However I do take a few pictures, and will hopefully have a few thought provoking comments to make.

My areas of interest are mainly conservation biology and invasive species, but I have a growing entomological craving and love the diversity found when you look at creatures with an exoskeleton. I am particularly enjoying bringing these aspects together, and as such I am focusing a lot of my time on invasive insects, and the use of insects as indicators of biodiversity.Β  Hence… I expect the majority of content to be focused on these areas. I also love computers, data modeling, mapping and GIS… so expect to see some funky maps at some point.

Thought the best way to kick things off would be to put up a few photographs of some of the creatures from my garden. I moved to the tropics in northern Australia a few years ago, and am still in constant amazement at the diversity, density and SIZE of life up here. Before moving here I lived in the far south east of South Australia, in a Mediterranean climate. Dry in summer, cool in winter and such a contrast to the wet humid and incredibly green place I live in now. I have to say.. I am loving it! I can put up with the mould which growns on everything in the wet season, the doors swelling in their frames and wading in 30cm of water to get to the shops. I can put up with it, simply because I step outside into the garden and everywhere I look there are wierd and wonderful arthropods, reptiles, amphibians, birds, bats and plants with leaves the size of dustbin lids! It’s a natural history wonderland.

Anyway, enough waxing lyrical about my new home! Here are the pics.

Tree Frog

Green tree frog (Litoria caerulea)

Stalk-eyed fly (Achias australis) - How cool are these!

Tommy Round-head (Diporiphora australis)

Green tree ants (Oecophylla smaragdina)

Hemipterid warfare! Assassin bug (Pristhesancus plagipennis) eating a Mictis bug (Mictis sp.), with a pack of vultures in attendance.

4 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. TGIQ Says:

    Yay, you have a blog!

    OMG where to start with the comments?

    1. Invasive species – AWESOME! This is a great interest of mine as well!
    2. GIS/mapping – AWESOME! This is something I need to learn about and will be dabbling with in the near future…bring it on!
    3. Stalk-eyed fly: OMGSOCOOL!
    4. Assassin Bug/vultures/Mictis – *POOF* <- that's my brain exploding from the cool!

    I'm gonna like this blog! Exclamation Point!!!


  2. Well, why the heck have you been so mum about this? Nice! Don’t sell your writing short – the first post was more than engaging.

    I’ll be back to read the later posts, but in the meantime I’ve added your link to my blogroll. I went ahead and gave you “Insects & Invertebrate” status – no pressure πŸ™‚

  3. peteryeeles Says:

    “Don’t sell your writing short – the first post was more than engaging.”

    Thanks, Ted! Means alot coming from one of the Blogmeisters! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

