Ecdysis

March 27, 2010

We bought our little boy a small terrarium today, so I decided to pop out and have a poke around in the long grass that was once our lawn, to see if I could find a grass mantid or phasimid to live in it for a few days. Instead, I found this hedge grasshopper in the final stages of a nymphal moult. I ran in to get the camera but by the time I had put some fresh batteries in the flash, the little guy had already pushed around half way through his old cuticle.

The images you see here were taken over the course of about 5 minutes, so once the ball is rolling the process is actually quite quick. This was all very exciting for me, as I have only ever seen an insect molting in a lab.

4 Responses to “Ecdysis”

  1. myrmecos Says:

    That’s a nice series. Welcome to the Blogosphere!

    • peteryeeles Says:

      Thanks Alex. Been toying with the idea for a while, so it’s nice to finally see it come to fruition. Just have to hope I can make enough time to keep the content coming!


  2. I second the nod and the welcome.

    If I can offer any advice, find a frequency that works for you and keeps it fun – when you start letting perceived expectations from others dictate your schedule, it’ll get to be a drag real quick.

    • peteryeeles Says:

      Thanks, Ted. I’ve only been going a few weeks, and although I have a folder on my desktop with some processed photos and half written entries, I am already falling behind on my original intentions! I agree that finding an ideal frequency of posting will be the key.


Leave a Reply

